How do I want to start…?

by Catherine

Starting is always the most difficult, I start loads of projects, but ending them is another story. I want this blog to be a place where I come to write of my successes and failures. I want to keep myself in check, remind myself of life’s happiness and share my stories with willing readers and fellow authors. I also want to write for the sake of writing. As a graduate, with a B.A in English, I want to keep my journey going and continue my growth as a writer, and what better place to do that than on a blog. 

I was inspired to begin this blog after a visit to a National Historic Site just yesterday. My grandma is big on visiting different landmarks and learning about the Hudson Valley’s history, and I am sometimes lucky enough to get to join her. Yesterday we visited the Cedar Grove where Thomas Cole, the founder of the Hudson River School in the early 1800’s lived.

His love of the American landscape is vivid in his painting, sketches and other works. Cedar Grove was where Cole spent a lot of his time, it was owned by a farmer named John Thompson, and Cole eventually married on of Thompson’s nieces which allowed him to live permanently at Cedar Grove. 

What inspired me the most was the room on the second floor in the back of the house which is set up as an exhibition of his process as an artist. I felt such a connection to this exhibition because as a writer I have my own process. It made me stop and think that even a great artist such as Cole, who accomplished so much in his life, had to start from somewhere. It takes courage to start and even more courage to finish. It takes time, commitment and a lot of energy. The personal rewards are great and with each step forward there is improvement. I have many aspirations and I am going to take those little steps each day towards accomplishing my goals. I hope that I can also begin to inspire my readers to persevere through their hard times and find happiness. Because that is what it is all about, personal happiness that can be shared with other. 

So there – I have it, my first post is finished and I hope there will be a lot more to come. Thanks for reading and please share some of your accomplishments or goals that are on your mind now 🙂

